Institute of Physiology

The scientific focus of the Institute of Physiology, CCM (Director: Professor Dr. Axel R. Pries) is circulation. Investigations of molecular and vascular processes, organ perfusion and human physiology including clinical studies are performed.

The intense cooperation of the different research groups of the Institute with clinical, scientific and industrial partners is clearly reflected by the foundation of the “Center of Space Medicine Berlin” (Zentrum für Weltraummedizin Berlin) in cooperation with sponsors of space industry and federal authorities and of the “Research Alliance ‘Organ Perfusion’” (Forschungsverbund Organperfusion) in cooperation with the undefined"German Heart Center Berlin" (Deutsches Herzzentrum Berlin). Three of the professorships of these research focuses are externally sponsored and of high relevance for the output of the Institute in research and teaching.

In the undefined "Center of Space Medicine Berlin" (Zentrum für Weltraummedizin Berlin), effects of micro-g (or weightlessness, respectively) on the human organism under medical-physiological and psychological aspects are investigated. For example, there is a rapid loss of bone and muscle substance due to the lack of gravity in space. In order to allow people a longer stay in space, it is important to know about amount and velocity of these processes. Most recent methods are applied to clarify these cellular and molecular reconstructive mechanisms.

In the field of circulatory research, several research groups and guest scientists at the Institute investigate problems of great scientific and medical importance: vascular and cellular mechanisms of blood flow regulation, especially in microcirculation, pulmonary hypertension, vessel generation and degeneration (angiogenesis/angioadaptation), organ perfusion and perfusion disorders (ischemia/reperfusion), leukocyte function and inflammation. Another important research area is molecular atherosclerosis where initial molecular changes leading to atherosclerotic damages of the vessel wall are analyzed.

Besides research, teaching is one of the main tasks of the institute: students of the Charité do their basic studies here during their first four semesters.

 

 

Research Association Organperfusion

Director: Prof. Dr. AR Pries, Prof. Dr. W. Kübler, Prof. Dr. H. Habazettl
Cooperation: Prof. Dr.
H. Kuppe - DHZB

The research collaboration Organperfusion deals with the experimental study of clinical problems in vascular regulation and organ perfusion and the development of appropriate therapeutic approaches. The research topics covered include microcirculation and clinical microcirculation, endothelial function, angiogenesis and Angioadaptation, rheology, Lungenendstrombahn and tumor microcirculation

News: Interview Circulation (November 16, 2010)

Center of Space Medicine

In the undefinedCenter of Space Medicine, effects of micro-g (or weightlessness, respectively) on the human organism under medical-physiological and psychological aspects are investigated.

 

Detailed information can be found here.

 

Besides research, teaching is one of the main tasks of the institute: students of the Charité do their basic studies here during their first four semesters.

Picture: Novespace

Institut für Physiologie

Der wissenschaftliche Schwerpunkt des Instituts für Physiologie, CCM (geschäftsführender Direktor: Professor Dr. Axel Radlach Pries) liegt in der Kreislaufforschung. Untersuchungen zu molekularen und vaskulären Vorgängen und zur Organperfusion werden komplettiert durch Forschungen zur Humanphysiologie unter Einschluß klinischer Studien.

Die Arbeitsgruppen des Instituts kooperieren intensiv mit klinischen, naturwissenschaftlichen und industriellen Partnern. Deutliche Zeichen hierfür sind die Gründung des "Zentrums für Weltraummedizin Berlin" in Zusammenarbeit mit Sponsoren aus der Weltraumindustrie und Bundesbehörden sowie des "Forschungsverbunds Organperfusion" mit dem
undefined"Deutschen Herzzentrum Berlin". Die insgesamt drei extern finanzierten Stiftungsprofessoren dieser Forschungsschwerpunkte sind von großer Bedeutung für das Leistungsspektrum des Instituts in Forschung und Lehre.

Das undefined"Zentrum für Weltraummedizin Berlin" untersucht Auswirkungen der Schwerkraft bzw. der Schwerelosigkeit auf den menschlichen Organismus unter medizinisch-physiologischen und psychologischen Aspekten. Beispielsweise werden aufgrund fehlender Gravitation im All Knochen und Muskeln entlastet - die Folge ist ein rascher Abbau von Muskel- und Knochensubstanz. Um Menschen einen längeren Weltraumaufenthalt zu ermöglichen, ist es wichtig zu wissen, in welchem Ausmaß und in welcher Geschwindigkeit die Umbauprozesse stattfinden. Zur Klärung der beteiligten zellulären und molekularen Umbaumechanismen werden neueste Methoden eingesetzt.

Im Bereich der Kreislaufforschung untersuchen mehrere Arbeitsgruppen und Gastwissenschaftler am Institut Probleme von großer wissenschaftlicher und medizinischer Bedeutung: Vaskuläre und zelluläre Mechanismen der Durchblutungsregelung, besonders in der Mikrozirkulation, Lungenhochdruck, Gefäßneubildung und Rückbildung (Angiogenese/Angioadaptation), Organperfusion und Durchblutungsmangel (Ischämie/Reperfusion), Funktion der weißen Blutzellen und die Entzündung. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die molekulare Arterioskleroseforschung. Hier werden die initialen molekularen Veränderungen analysiert, die zur Entstehung von arteriosklerotischen Schäden der Gefäßwände führen.

Neben der Forschung ist die Lehre eine Hauptaufgabe des Instituts: Die Studenten der Charité absolvieren hier in den ersten vier Semestern ihr Grundlagenstudium.

Forschungsverbund Organperfusion

Leitung:         Prof. Dr. A. R. Pries, Prof. Dr. W. Kübler, Prof. Dr. H. Habazettl

Kooperation: Prof. Dr. H. Kuppe - DHZB

Der Forschungsverbund Organperfusion befasst sich mit der experimentellen Erforschung klinischer Probleme der vaskulären Regulation und Organperfusion sowie der Entwicklung entsprechender therapeutischer Konzepte. Die behandelten Forschungsthemen umfassen Mikrozirkulation und klinische Mikrozirkulation, Endothelfunktion, Angiogenese und Angioadaptation, Rheologie, Lungenendstrombahn und Tumor Mikrozirkulation.

Aktuell: Interview Circulation (November 16, 2010)

 

Zentrum für Weltraummedizin

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Dipl-geol. Hanns-Christian Gunga

Das undefinedZentrum für Weltraummedizin untersucht Auswirkungen der Schwerkraft bzw. der Schwerelosigkeit auf den menschlichen Organismus unter medizinisch-physiologischen und psychologischen Aspekten. 

Ausführlichere Informationen finden Sie hier

Neben der Forschung ist die Lehre eine Hauptaufgabe des Instituts: Die Studierenden der Charité absolvieren hier in den ersten vier Semestern ihr Grundlagenstudium.

Bild: Novespace